Carraig Hurlers Garner another Two points Away from Home.  

East Cork Junior Hurling League
Division 1 – Sat 16th June @ Lisgoold
Carraig na bhFear 1-22 Lisgoold 0-18
In a fixture that has always had a bit of “bite” to it, Carraig na bhFear Junior Hurlers took the two points on offer against Lisgoold, in the East Cork Junior Hurling League, on Saturday last, June 16th. With a week to go to the first round of the hurling championship, the team was keen to put in a strong display and to keep building confidence and spirit within the camp.

The story of the game could be summed up in one sentence, it was played on Carraig’s terms. There was a good pace and tempo to their play, with Martin Hickey, the Forde brothers and Aaron Dorgan strong in around the middle third. A dominant half forward line of John Forde, Timmy Geaney and Paul Murphy dominated possession on their own puck out and this lead to a plethora of scoring chances. Carraig lead by five points to four after 15 minutes, and they pushed the lead out further with a well taken goal by Brendan Murphy, profiting from strong interplay between Paul Murphy and Timmy Geaney. Half time score: Carraig 1-11, Lisgoold 0-08.

The second half saw a reduction in tempo as Carraig always seemed to answer a Lisgoold score with one of their own, and thus making sure the win was never in threat. The full back line of Brian Hegarty, Stephen Casey and Daniel Coleman were very efficient and secure in possession which meant that Lisgoold could never create a goal chance that could ignite a comeback. The substitution process was fully utilised with returning players gathering some more valuable game time. Paul Sheehan, Shane Farrell and Paul O‘Keeffe all scored a brace in the second half, and with John Forde unerring from frees, they closed out the game seven points to the good.

An Foireann :
C Hegarty,
B Hegarty, S Casey, D Coleman,
A Dorgan, D O’Driscoll, J Forde,
M Hickey, P Geaney,
J Forde, T Geaney, P Murphy,
P O’Keeffe, B Murphy, D Sweeney.

Fir Ionaid:
B Casey ( C Hegarty), M Aherne ( D O’ Driscoll),  C Hayes ( J Forde), J Meehan ( P Geaney),  S Farrell ( P Murphy), P Sheehan ( T Geaney), P O’Sullivan ( B Murphy).

First Round of East Cork Junior A Hurling Championship: Carraig na bhFear V Fr O’Neills,

Sunday June 24th, 2.30pm at Carrigtwohill Gaa Grounds.