Carraig na bhFear GAA AGM Report

We held our Annual General Meeting in Scoil an Athar Tadhg on Sat 14th November. A good crowd attended, perhaps slightly down on recent years however. Chairperson Dermot O’Driscoll opened the meeting welcomed all present. The minutes of the 2015 AGM were read and adopted. Outgoing secretary Liam Spillane presented a detailed report on the years events, which were busy both on and off the field. No joy for our Junior Hurlers or footballers in 2015, with the Junior A Hurlers bowing out at the semi final stage of the championship to St. Ita’s, while the Junior A footballers suffered an early exit to Erins Own in the 3rd round of the championship in late April. The Junior B hurlers were defeated by Sarsfields in the 3rd round and the Junior B footballers had a disappointing defeat at home to St. Catherines in the quarter final of the championship.
At U21 level, the footballers lost to a very strong Dungourney outfit having had a well deserved win over Youghal in round 1, but the hurlers came up against a better balanced Castlelyons outfit in round 1 and exited at that stage. No silverware to show for the season but plenty to work with for 2016. Liam thanked all the management and selectors of the various teams and thanked the school and juvenile clubs for their hard work throughout the year. Special congratulations were offered to players who represented the club at divisional, colleges and intercounty level throughout the season, including Timmy Geaney, Aaron Dorgan, John & James Forde and Paul Sheehan. The minor hurlers had a particularly good year and were unfortunate to be defeated in the County Minor A Championship semi final by eventual champions Ahan Gaels.
A successful 5K road race was held in August and this event should become a regular feature in our fundraising efforts. As Liam rounded up his 3 year term, he thanked all those who work tirelessly year in year out for the good of the club and we’ve no doubt he will continue to be of great assistance to the club in the years ahead. Míle buiochas Liam.
Gillian Sheehan presented a detailed treasurers report, outlining our expenses and income for the year. With a major development on the horizon, the importance of fundraising was emphasised and the vital contribution of our club lotto was underlined also. The lotto report was presented by Tommy Sheehan and the committee was thanked for their continued efforts by Dermot O’Driscoll.
Dermot delivered his chairmans address and thanked all those who helped him in any way over the past year and throughout his three year term as chairman. With the club hoping to enter into a new development in the coming years, he expressed his optimism for the future of the club but that a lot of hard work still lies ahead to bring the vision to reality. As he steps back from the role in 2016, he wished the club and the new incoming officers the very best, in particular the new Chairperson Dan Joe Foley. Dermots contribution to the club over a long number of years has been invaluable and hopefully he will continue to be available when called upon in the future.
The following teams are to be entered for 2016: Junior A & B Hurling Championship, Junior A & B Football Championship, Junior A & B Hurling League, Junior A Football League, U21 Hurling & Football Championship.

Officers elected for 2016:

President: Eddie Hegarty
Chairperson: Dan Joe Foley
Vice Chair: Tom Neally
Secretary: Denis O’Connor
Fixtures Secretary: Don Hegarty
Treasurer: Gillian Sheehan
Lotto Treasurer: Tommy Sheehan
Lotto Committee: Tommy Sheehan, Sean Hegarty, Mick Sherlock, Bertie Sheehan, Pauline Hegarty, Dan Crowley
P.R.O: Tomás Sheehan
Cultural Officer: Dermot O’Driscoll
Insurance Officer: Brian Hegarty
Registrars: Jimmy Dorgan, Michael Sherlock
Board Delegates: Liam Spillane, Don Hegarty, Barrie Casey, Denis O’Connor
Grounds Committee: Relected en bloc
Vice Presidents: Tommy Sheehan, Niall Cronin, Joe Quinn, Seamus O’Reilly, Michael O’Keeffe