Hurlers pipped late on by St. Ita’s

East Cork JAHC 1st Round
St. Ita’s 2-17 Carraig na bhFear 0-18

Carraig’s Junior A Hurlers will have to go the scenic route this year if they are to claim the East Cork Junior A Hurling Championship this year after a narrow defeat to St. Ita’s in an exciting opening round on Saturday in Carrigtwohill. Carraig started brightly and dominated the early exchanges, but some poor shooting meant we failed to exploit this early dominance. Playing with the aid of a strong breeze, we trailed 0-02 to 0-04, with John Forde and Seamus Harnedy exchanging points. Carraig were playing well with Brian hegarty and Martin Hickey prominent around the middle, but the Gortroe sides great efficiency in front of goal saw the sides level on four occasions throughout the half, before a late point from a John Forde free saw us lead by just a solitary point at the break, 0-10 to 0-09.

The second half started well for Carraig, with points from Con Burns and John again from frees putting us two points to the good, while Seamus Harnedy was unerring from placed balls for St. Ita’s to keep them in touch. A goal for St. Ita’s on 42 minutes put them into the lead again, but Carraig replied well. Con Burns scored a magnificent point into the ever increasing wind, while hard work from Timmy Geaney and Aidan Hegarty in the centre of the field repelled the St. Ita’s attack. With 7 minutes to go the sides were level, 1-14 to 0-17, but St. Ita’s found another gear and three points, 2 from frees, pushed them ahead. A late goal approaching injury time confirmed the result, while Carraig could only find a late Ronan Spillane free in reply, as the seasiders advanced to the third round/quarter final stage.

No doubt the team will be disappointed with the result but the workrate and commitment was excellent. There is plenty room for improvement, especially on the shooting front, which no doubt the management team will be working keenly on in the coming fortnight before the round 2 clash.

Brian Sheehan,
Daniel Coleman, Stephen Casey, James Forde
Paul Geaney, Timmy Geaney, Brian Hegarty
Aidan Hegarty, Martin Hickey
John Forde, Con Burns, John Walsh
Pádraig O’Sullivan, Aaron Dorgan, Ronan Spillane

Paul O’Keeffe for John Walsh
Tomás Sheehan for Paul Geaney
James Meehan for John Forde